lahagi.blogg.se

Sweet home 3d fedora
Sweet home 3d fedora










sweet home 3d fedora

Over the years Plasma has overcome its initial flaws, has become much faster and smoother, and has grown into a reliable, future-proof platform. Window compositing for 2D and 3D effects is embedded.

sweet home 3d fedora

For window management Plasma 5 still builds on the good old UNIX X Window System (aka ‘X11’), but support for the newer Wayland display server system is building up. Integration with GTK-based applications is fine though. The actual desktop manager for KDE is the Plasma 5 framework, which uses OpenGL for the graphical interface and Qt as the widget toolkit. Xfce is really lean and clean, and I still use it on a laptop, but again, I cannot always configure it the way I want it. I did like GNOME for its clarity and simplicity, but I could not configure it as well as KDE. I have used other desktop managers, especially GNOME and Xfce, but always returned to KDE. For me KDE has been the first choice, virtually since I started with Linux back in 2003. It should be stable and pleasing to your eyes, it has to work smooth and fast, and therefore it will require a certain level of configurability. The desktop is where you are looking at and working with all day and it needs to do what you want it to. A third choice touching both previous ones is that things should just work (or with little extra effort, eg. The second choice will be the distro that provides this desktop environment and also has ample choice of applications in its repositories. I think the first thing a user wants to choose is a desktop environment. It is going to be a (very) long read, but hopefully it can be of use to others. I will explain how I made my choice, which hick-ups I encountered on installation and what my final choice of software has become. It has been a rather clean and bare start, but I am quite happy with it now. What to do?Īfter trying several distros from a Live CD – more specific: a very nifty LiveUSB MultiBoot stick with several distros on it – and reading through lots of reviews, I decided for KDE neon, a fairly fresh project by the KDE community itself. Starting with LinuxMint 19 ‘Tara’ support for KDE has been dropped by the LinuxMintees.

sweet home 3d fedora

After many happy years on LinuxMint with a KDE desktop environment I had to make a decision. About every fifth year the daily worker on Linux will need a major system upgrade.












Sweet home 3d fedora